Answer Day Wednesday January 10th 2024

On January 10th I will be answering queries and responding to comments about the proposed changes to home education guidance. The consultation on the draft guidance closes on January 18th and there is an explanatory link at the end of this post. Afterwards I will write it all up here – on my blog – by Friday 12th so that it can be easily located and shared.

Please send questions and comments any time from now until Wednesday. The options are:

If you send a private message or email I won’t name you or identify you in any way when I summarise the question on a public page.

Below is the main feedback so far.

MISTRUST

The LA weren’t there when we needed them. They have failed my child. And now I’m supposed to welcome them with open arms. All the LA is interested in is getting children back into school. My LA doesn’t think children with special needs should be home educated.

SAFEGUARDING THREATS

LAs threaten safeguarding all the time. LAs pick on single parents.

NO SUPPORT

Why is there no support? The LA keeps saying it can’t help and I’m on my own.

CONSULTATION IS A CON

Won’t this all just go ahead regardless? LAs just do what they want anyway. My LA acts like it’s already been decided. My LA insists that changing the guidance is just the start and that everything in the Schools Bill will be brought back.

2 thoughts on “Answer Day Wednesday January 10th 2024

  1. Pingback: Answer Day Wednesday January 10th – Ed Yourself

  2. David

    I am a bit concerned by these things and have been for years as it appears to have been a gradual clamp down with the ultimate goal of basically putting all home-ed children into school. I feel these consultations are scammy, like much of the democratic process. They could even be honey pots to flush out home edders not on some list somewhere. Part of me thinks just to ignore the law; I don’t think their authority is legitimate in this avenue. This is all God-given parental authority being usurped by a civil authority. When they make rediculous burdensome laws in which they imply all parents are suspects they deserve, at the very least, to be ignored!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment